AHP Practice Educator Resources

 

Welcome to the Supporting AHP Learners in Practice home page.

This is a one point access page for information to help you support students whilst on placement.

Please see below for University specific information and contacts.

For more information please contact iownt.ClinicalEducationTeam@nhs.net

Please inform the Clinical Education Team when you complete your Educator update.

This information is regularly checked but if you notice something incorrect or out of date please let us know.

 

Allied Health Professionals Practice Educator information

The HCPC defines ‘practice educators’ as a person who is responsible for a learner’s education during their practice-based learning. They must ‘have relevant knowledge, skills and experience to support safe and effective learning and, unless other arrangements are appropriate, must be on the relevant part of the Register’ October 2020

 

HCPC statement on student supervision

https://www.hcpc-uk.org/about-us/corporate-governance/policies/statements/hcpc-statement-on-student-supervision/

Reasonable adjustments on student placement

https://www.hcpc-uk.org/students/learning-materials-for-students/case-study/case-study-reasonable-adjustment-on-student-placement/

 

 

Occupational Therapy

Karen Witts

K.J.Witts@soton.ac.uk

Occupational Therapy Practice Placement Co-ordinator

Podiatry

Mark Cole

mc2a06@soton.ac.uk

Programme Manager BSc (Hons) Podiatry

Dr Emma Cowley

E.E.Cowley@soton.ac.uk

Senior Teaching Fellow

Physiotherapy

Jo Kileff

J.Kileff@soton.ac.uk

Placement Academic Liaison Lead

Cardiac Physiology 

Sally Sampson

ses1d14@soton.ac.uk

Practice Academic Liaison Lead

Placements Team

fels-healthplacements@soton.ac.uk +44 (0)2382126519

Students will be allocated a locality contact for the duration of their placement. Please ensure you ask your student these details on their first day. Any concerns during the placement should be directed to this contact.

AHP Practice Educator Programme 

https://blackboard.soton.ac.uk/

Directions to Blackboard site 


 

Operating Department Practice 

Ashley Neve

Ashley.Neve@port.ac.uk

Course Leader

Diagnostic Radiography and Medical Imaging 

Tom Campbell-Adams

tom.campbell-adams@port.ac.uk

Placement Lead 

William Cox

william.cox@port.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer

Placements Team 

sci.placements@port.ac.uk +44 (0)23 9284 4409


Radiography 

Matthew Southam

msoutham@aecc.ac.uk

Course Lead

Philip Hume

PHume@aecc.ac.uk


Orthotics and Prosthetics 

Mark McAloon

M.McAloon@salford.ac.uk

Placement Manager

Sarah Hall

S.J.Hall@salford.ac.uk

Placements general enquiries

Robert Fulford

r.s.fulford@salford.ac.uk

Programme related information

Intermediate & Placement Booklet 2020 

Professional Aptitude Assessment


Speech and Language Therapy 

sltplacements@reading.ac.uk

0118 3786659

PLACEMENT EDUCATOR WEBSITE http://rdg.ac/SLTPlacements


Dietetics 

Sharon Underwood

s.underwood@surrey.ac.uk

07815807236


Physiotherapy 

Sophie Gay

Sophie.Gay@winchester.ac.uk

Placements Manager

Tessa Valentine

Tessa.Valentine@winchester.ac.uk

Placements Administrator

Steven Ryall

Steve.Ryall@winchester.ac.uk

Programme Lead

Keep up to date with the latest news

Find out what is happening in our services here.

Tell Us Your Views

Click here to find out how you can feedback to us about your experiences, along with how to raise any concerns, complaints or questions.