Skip to content
Current waiting times (average) Emergency Dept. (A&E): 44 minutes Emergency Dept. (children): 52 minutes Learn more about our waiting times
 

Information skills training

Training to develop search and evaluation skills may be requested by registered Oliveira Library users.

The library team are pleased to be able to offer training sessions via Microsoft Teams. Please email us at iownt.library@nhs.net if you’d like to book a place in advance, or simply join us on the day.

Diary for 2021:

 Training sessions in September 2021

 Training sessions for October 2021

Training sessions for November 2021

Training sessions for December 2021

Sessions are listed below. If you can’t see what you’re looking for, please do contact us. We’re happy to offer 1–1 sessions – just let us know what you need help with, and when would be most convenient for you. If you’d like help with accessing your e-learning, please contact Simon Elliott at simon.elliott4@nhs.net

Looking For Evidence:

Overview of reliable evidence sources – Evidence search, Trip, BMJ Best Practice, UpToDate, Marsden online

  • Weds 8 Sept at 1pm
  • Tues 21 Sept at 12pm
  • Weds 13 Oct at 1pm
  • Fri 15 Oct at 12pm
  • Fri 19 Nov at 12pm
  • Fri 17 Dec at 12pm
Evidence - advanced search:

Using HDAS databases to search for journal articles

  • Fri 17 Sept at 2pm
  • Thurs 23 Sept at 10am
  • Tues 19 Oct at 2pm
  • Thurs 28 Oct at 10am
  • Tues 16 Nov at 2pm
  • Thurs 25 Nov at 10am
  • Tues 21 Dec at 2pm
Referencing:

Referencing styles – hints and tips

  • Thurs 16 Sept at 2pm
  • Thurs 21 Oct at 2pm
  • Thurs 18 Nov at 2pm
  • Thurs 16 Dec at 2pm
Keeping up to date:

KnowledgeShare, alerts, bulletins and TOCs (table of contents)

  • Tues 14 Sept at 2pm
  • Mon 27 Sept at 2pm
  • Tues 12 Oct at 2pm
  • Mon 25 Oct at 2pm
  • Tues 9 Nov at 2pm
  • Mon 22 Nov at 2pm
  • Tues 14 Dec at 2pm
  • Mon 27 Dec at 2pm
IT drop-in session:

Teams, Office 365, Kahoot, Mentimeter 

  • Weds 8 Sept 11am to 12noon
  • Fri 24 Sept 1pm to 2pm
  • Weds 13 Oct at 11am
  • Fri 22 Oct at 1pm
  • Weds 10 Nov at 11am
  • Fri 26 Nov at 1pm
  • Weds 8 Dec at 11am
  • Fri 24 Dec at 1pm
Critical appraisal:

Introduction to appraising journal articles


Keep up to date with the latest news

Find out what is happening in our services.

Tell Us Your Views

Please feedback to us about your experiences, along with how to raise any concerns, complaints or questions.