Skip to content
Current waiting times (average) Emergency Dept. (A&E): 9 minutes Emergency Dept. (children): 0 minutes Learn more about our waiting times

NHS70 Parliamentary Awards

On Wednesday 7 February NHS Improvement and NHS England launched an awards programme to coincide with NHS70 celebrations.   These awards are open to anyone who works or volunteers with the NHS regardless of which area they are in – primary care, community services, mental health & learning disability, ambulance services, St. Mary’s Hospital, prison healthcare, etc..

Our MP, Bob Seely, has been invited to nominate individuals and teams for recognition in one (or more) of 10 award categories as follows:

  • The Excellence in Cancer Care Award: an individual or team which is going above and beyond to improve outcomes and experience for patients living with and beyond cancer.
  • The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award: an individual or team which has developed new and effective services to help people living with mental health problems in the community.
  • The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award: an individual or team which has made improvements to how the NHS treats people in life or death situations.
  • The Excellence in Primary Care Award: a primary care practitioner or team which is working with patients to help them stay healthy in their own homes.
  • The Person-Centred Care Champion Award: an individual or team which has gone furthest towards bringing together services to ensure patients with long-term and multiple conditions get the right care in the right place for them.
  • The Future NHS Award: an individual or team that has successfully trialled and embedded innovative change(s) to empower and improve care for patients.
  • The Healthier Communities Award: an individual or team which has brought different groups together to improve public health in their areas.
  • The Care and Compassion Award: any nurse, midwife or care staff member of any discipline and in any setting who has used their skills to ensure that patients experience care and compassion .
  • The Patient and Public Involvement Award: to celebrate volunteers who help shape and deliver better services in their area.
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: for an individual who has worked within a health or care setting for 40 years or more who has left a lasting legacy.

The IW NHS70 Task and Finish Group wants to assist Bob by encouraging you to make nominations. You can find more details and the nomination forms at  You can also click on the links below to access the nomination forms:

The nomination forms are also available on the Trust’s website at   Please return the forms to by 9th March 2018 if possible and no later than 16th March.

Nominees will then be shortlisted over the coming months and will then be invited to attend a national awards ceremony in Parliament on Tues 4 July, where the final winners will be announced.

Keep up to date with the latest news

Read the latest news from across all our services.

Subscribe to Trust Matters, our regular newsletter.

Tell Us Your Views

Please feedback to us about your experiences, along with how to raise any concerns, complaints or questions.