Current waiting times (average) Emergency Dept. (A&E): 7 minutes Emergency Dept. (children): 0 minutes Learn more about our waiting times
Isle of Wight NHS Trust celebrates unsung heroes
16 October 2019

The NHS on the Isle of Wight has held a week of events to celebrate the contribution of some of its staff that work behind the scenes as part of its Unsung Hero Awards.

The Trust received 273 nominations from staff, volunteers and members of the public after launching the Awards in September.

After a difficult judging process the nominees were whittled down to 42 shortlisted individuals and teams from right across the organisation.

The winners were announced by the Trust’s Director of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professionals, Alice Webster, at a small ceremony at Lakeside Park in Wootton.

A highlight of the ceremony was the Lifetime Achievement Award, given to Sheelagh Holme a member of the Trust’s switchboard team for an astonishing 52 years.

Trophies, certificates and gift bags, sponsored by Unison, were handed to the winners by Trust Chair Vaughan Thomas and the Chief Executive of the Institute of Healthcare Management (IHM) Loretta Outhwaite.

Maggie Oldham, Chief Executive at Isle of Wight NHS Trust, said: “A huge congratulations to all of our winners – their contribution to the NHS is phenomenal and they are such an important part of the support that we are able to provide to our community.

“I would just like to add a personal thank you to each and every person who took the time to nominate a colleague.

“Pausing for just a moment to let someone know that you value their work and support can have such a powerful and positive impact.” 

Between 7 and 11 October members of the Executive Team and senior leaders at the Trust visited teams of people working behind the scenes to keep NHS services running.

A celebration event was held on Friday 11 October with staff able to drop in throughout the day to talk to colleagues and enjoy some light refreshments.

Congratulations to everyone who made the shortlist and to the eventual winners:

Volunteer of the Year
Beryl Davies
Brett Lamplough
Chemotherapy Volunteers
Julia Pollard
Nick Henry

Winner – Julia Pollard

Apprentice of the Year
Holly Baxter
Joanna Walter
Rosie Oliver
William Whittingstall

Winner – Joanna Walter

Going the Extra Mile
Anna Jager
Dr Whatley
Emma Baxter
Julie Vale
Mechanical Craftsperson’s Team
Paul Hemmett
Rob Jubb
Yvonne Younie

Winner – Anna Jager

Supporting a Team
Ashley Rawling
Kate Perkins
Katie Bower
Nat Ford
Rob Graham
Steph Stanley
Steve Holliday

Joint winners – Nat Ford and Ashley Rawling

Demonstrating Leadership to Improve Care or Patient Experience
Brian Martin
Darren Claydon
Donna Parkinson
Karly Alexander
Steph Stanley                                           

Winner – Karly Alexander

Lifetime Achievement
Diane French
Sandie Paice
Sheelagh Holme
Tony Carr

Winner – Sheelagh Holme

Making a Difference
Bethany Clark
Calum Robertson
Carers Lounge
Dave Angell
Library Team
Louise Walker
Michael Owers

Winner – Michael Owers

Unison Award
Selected from all 273 nominations and announced on the day.

Winner – Nathan Hays

Keep up to date with the latest news

Find out what is happening in our services here.

Tell Us Your Views

Click here to find out how you can feedback to us about your experiences, along with how to raise any concerns, complaints or questions.