Quality Care - everyone, everytime
New NEDs together v2
New Non-Executive Directors strengthen Trust Board
05 February 2018

New expertise has been recruited to the Board of the Island’s NHS Trust which oversees the ambulance, community, hospital, mental health and learning disability services provided on the Island.    

Isle of Wight NHS Trust, in collaboration with NHS Improvement, have appointed five new Non-Executive Directors.  The new appointees fill vacancies on the Board following the terms of previous Non-Executive Directors coming to an end and the appointment of Vaughan Thomas as Chair.

Isle of Wight NHS Trust Chair, Vaughan Thomas, said: “I am delighted to welcome our new Non-Executive Directors to the Trust.  As a Trust we face some significant challenges but the depth and balance of expertise added by our new Board members will be of enormous assistance on our improvement journey.  I know that they are all enthusiastic to support our dedicated staff and volunteers who deliver excellent care to Islanders and visitors.”

The new appointments are:

Dr Charles Godden

Charles qualified as a doctor at Charing Cross Hospital Medical School in 1983 and worked in England and abroad before being appointed as a Consultant Paediatrician in Surrey in 1995.   Charles has management experience as Clinical Director, Director of Medical Education, Member of the Local Negotiating Committee and as a GMC mentor.   Charles was a Paediatric spokesperson for the British Lung Foundation and the anti-tobacco champion working on the successful campaign to ban smoking in cars with children present.  Charles is also a member of the Rugby Football Union Disciplinary and Safeguarding Panel.

Anne Stoneham

Anne is a senior lecturer in the Faculty of Business and Law at the University of Portsmouth specialising in company law and corporate governance.  She was previously in private practice as a corporate and commercial litigation solicitor.  Anne has non-executive experience in the voluntary sector on a range of boards over a period of 30 years, and is currently Chair of UK Youth.  With an interest in conflict and dispute resolution Anne is an accredited mediator.

Caroline Spicer

Caroline is a qualified accountant and was a Partner at PwC and later an Executive Partner/Vice President with IBM. Caroline has worked extensively across both the UK and abroad. She has 30 years of practical business experience; her roles have included running the Eastern Europe consulting practice of PwC, and looking after consulting services for IBM in Southern Europe.  In addition,  she has advised on and managed large transformation projects.   Caroline has Non- Executive experience and is currently Chair and Trustee of the charity ‘Partnership for Children’ and a Trustee of a voluntary service organisation.

Sara Weech

Sara is an experienced public sector executive director having spent 25 years working in complex health and social care systems including East and West Sussex, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.  Sara has worked for both local authority and NHS organisations and since 2013 has been Trustee and Chair of Earl Mountbatten Hospice.

Dr Tim Peachey

Tim qualified as a doctor in 1983 and worked as a consultant anaesthetist.  Tim has held medical management roles at all levels in a number of acute hospital Trusts including as Medical Director of the Royal free Hospital, and Chief Executive of Barnet and Chase Farm Hospitals. Tim has also worked as an Improvement Director helping NHS Trusts and is currently the Deputy Chief Executive of Barts Health NHS Trust in London.

Background to Non-Executive Appointments

Non-Executives in the NHS bring a different perspective and insight, together with essential skills developed both inside and outside the NHS.  The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ Code of Practice including open advertising of the positions.  

Dr Godden’s appointment runs for two years from 5th September 2017 to 31st August 2019.  Ms Spicer, Ms Weech and Ms Stoneham’s appointments run for two years from 1st January 2018 to 31st December 2019.  Dr Peachey’s appointment runs from 1st April 2018 to 31st March 2020.   The positions attract remuneration of £6,157 per annum.

All non-executive appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees political activity (if any declared) to be made public.  All the new appointees have declared no political activity.

The requirements for Non-Executive Directors and remuneration can be found on the NHS Improvement website at https://improvement.nhs.uk/resources/non-executive-appointments/

Isle of Wight NHS Trust Board

The Trust Board now comprises (those marked * are non voting):

 Non-Executive Directors  Executive Directors
  • Vaughan Thomas, Chairman
  • Charles Rogers, Vice Chair & Senior Independent Director
  • David King, Non-Executive Director
  • Caroline Spicer, Non-Executive Director
  • Sara Weech, Associate Non-Executive Director*
  • Anne Stoneham, Non-Executive Director
  • Dr Charles Godden, Associate Non-Executive Director *
  • Dr Tim Peachey, Non-Executive Director
  • Maggie Oldham, Chief Executive
  • Frank Sims, Deputy Chief Executive
  • Mr Steve Parker, Interim Medical Director
  • Dr Barbara Stuttle CBE, Director of Nursing & Quality
  • Darren Cattell, Interim Turnaround Chief Financial Officer
  • Shaun Stacey, Chief Operating Officer
  • Julie Pennycook, Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development
  • Jon Burwell, Executive Director of Strategy and Planning*
  • Kevin Bond, Interim Director Mental Health*
  • Alan Thorne, Improvement Director*

Keep up to date with the latest Trust News

Our Performance

To see our latest performance and financial report click here.

Tell Us Your Views

Click here to find out how you can feedback to us about your experiences, along with how to raise any concerns, complaints or questions.