Skip to content
Current waiting times (average) Emergency Dept. (A&E): 37 minutes Emergency Dept. (children): 14 minutes Learn more about our waiting times

Our commitment to providing the very best care

Our commitment to providing the very best care
26 June 2019

A new set of standards has been introduced to ensure patients receive consistently high levels of care during their stay at St. Mary’s Hospital.

The Clinical Quality Standards have been developed by local nurses, health care assistants and patient representatives and cover areas such as personal hygiene, infection prevention and control, nutrition and hydration, privacy and dignity, communications and end of life care. Each quality standard has a clear set of actions to be taken by ward staff to ensure excellent patient care is being consistently given. 

Judy Dyos, Deputy Director of Nursing has led the development of the standards. Judy said: “Quality standards are important as they enable us to work together to improve the quality of care we are providing and ensure it is the best care we can possibly give to each and every patient. The standards are helping us to measure how we are doing, highlight the areas that we are improving but also flagging up where we need to do more and better. The driving force for this work is our commitment to provide the best possible clinical care to all our patients at a level that should ‘always happen’.

The Quality Standards form part of the “15 steps” Challenge which focuses on seeing care through a patient or carer’s eyes, and exploring their first impressions. An assessment is carried out every second week of the month in 2 to 3 hospital wards at a time and looks at whether each ward is welcoming, safe, caring, well organised and calm.

Judy continued: “The standards have been developed together with staff and patients as well as taking into consideration important national guidelines and standards set by the care Quality Commission (CQC). They are areas which are important to our patients but also to us, as healthcare professionals, and they will help us to continue to improve the care we give across all of our services.”

In addition to the 15 Steps Challenge, the Quality Standards will be achieved and maintained through continuous monitoring by clinical staff working at ward and management level through daily assessments and audits, direct feedback from patients and through patient surveys.

The Clinical Quality Standards for Community services are due to be launched in July with standards for Mental Health currently being developed.

The Quality Standards are available as a download.

Keep up to date with the latest news

Read the latest news from across all our services.

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

Tell Us Your Views

Please feedback to us about your experiences, along with how to raise any concerns, complaints or questions.